Monday, December 08, 2008

Here Kitty, Kitty

Five Horse Johnson

Fat Black Pussy Cat


Ripped @ a crankin' 320

Biography by Charles Spano

Five Horse Johnson comes straight out of Toledo, OH, with big riff, get down, rootsy, middle American rock & roll that takes acid blues and Led Zeppelin and mixes in influences like the Black Crowes, Lynyrd Skynyrd, Aerosmith, and ZZ Top.

The band -- made up of Eric Oblander on harps and vocals, Brad Coffin on guitar, Steve Smith on bass, and Mike Alonso on drums -- got together in 1995 and began opening for acts like War, Southern Culture on the Skids, Atomic Bitchwax, the Queens of the Stone Age, and R.L. Burnside. In 1998, they released Double Down. The critically acclaimed Fat Black Pussycat followed in 1999 and The No. 6 Dance came out on Small Stone Records in 2001.

Review by Tom Schulte

The logo of the Chevy Super Sport cars, popular as hot rods, inspires Small Stone's logo. The band in the roster that probably best combines these elements of monster guitars and muscle cars is Five Horse Johnson. The group's Fat Black Pussy Cat is their unabashed, entirely successful celebration of a bold, giant '70s Southern rock sound. It is a big sound of power blues and attitude. 

  1 Lightning When I Need
  2 Fly Back Home 
  3 So Low
  4 She Don't Know  
  5 Sermons in the Yard  
  6 Say We Can  
  7 Bleachin' Bones  
  8 I Cried  
  9 Dead Language