Saturday, December 27, 2008


The Silencers

The Silencers


Biography by Richie Unterberger

A trio with Dave Leeds (bass), Rob Felenchak (drums), and Eric Toth (guitar), the Silencers are a Michigan-based surf revival band that play in the Dick Dale style, with a darker approach than the average contemporary surf act. Their self-titled debut, consisting of mostly original material, was issued in 1997, and its follow-up, Cyclerific Sounds followed two years later.

Review by Richie Unterberger

"Link Wray & the Ventures rolled into one big ball and heaved through Dick Dale's living room window!!!" screams the back cover. It's not as mind-bending as that description would have you believe, but it's a very respectable 1990s surf revival effort, with excellent chops and a good sense of menace. Of their three cited influences, Dick Dale is definitely the biggest, as Eric Toth's banzai guitar leads amply demonstrate. 

  1    Bleach Pit   
  2    Journey to the Stars
  3    Martini Lunch
  4    Woof-Woof  
  5    Mr. Transmogrifier  
  6    Drag Queen  
  7    Run Kitten Run  
  8    In from the Cold
  9    Lawn Job
  10  Rough Rider
  11   Spaceman  
  12  Birdy Nums-Nums