Sunday, May 13, 2007

Pickin' On The Blind Boy

Blind Blake

Ragtime Guitar's Foremost Fingerpicker


by Thom Owens
Ragtime Guitar's Foremost Fingerpicker contains a total of 28 prime tracks from Blind Blake. Alternating between solo acoustic numbers and songs recorded with a string band, the set demonstrates how exceptionally gifted the guitarist was — he's playing arrangements and rhythms that several subsequent generations were never able to completely figure out. Blind Blake was one of the finest acoustic guitarists of the '20s and '30s and this is the definitive compilation

1 Blind Arthur's Breakdown
2 C.C. Pill Blues
3 Black Biting Bee Blues
4 Hard Pushing Papa
5 Black Dog Blues
6 Georgia Bound
7 Hastings Street
8 Skeedle Loo Doo Blues
9 Rope Stretching Blues, Pt. 1
10 Chump Man Blues
11 Diddie Wa Diddie
12 Sweet Jivin' Mama
13 Itching Heel
14 Too Tight Blues, No. 2
15 Southern Rag
16 One Time Blues
17 Playing Policy Blues
18 Hey Hey Daddy Blues
19 Sweet Papa Low Down
20 Police Dog Blues
21 Wilson Dam
22 Come on Boys, Let's Do That Messin' Around
23 You Gonna Quit Me Blues
24 Let Your Love Come Down
25 Bad Feeling Blues
26 Righteous Blues
27 Down the Country Blues
28 Seaboard Stomp