Monday, July 06, 2009

Git 'R Done

Turbulence” is the the brand-new Seatsniffers studio-album –the seventh album for Belgium’s (if not Europe’s) long-running Roots-Rock ambassadors.In recent years the band has kept up its relentless touring schedule all over Europe and has succesfully added the U.S. to their list of countries to conquer.In 2008 they returned to their original line-up, welcoming bass player Bop de Houwer back into the band. As a result, “Turbulence” has the same feel to it as their first two records : short, rhythmic bursts of energy, blending Rock, Rockabilly, R&B, Blues-Rock, Hard Country and Punk-Rock. This all distilled into the real “Seatsniffers sound”.“Turbulence” features eight songs by front man Walter Broes, Drummer Pete De Houwer’s vocal debut on King Karl’s rollicking “Baby, come to Papa”, a tribute to Lee Hazlewood’s genius with a quirky cover of his “Dark in my Heart”, and the band’s demented, echo-laden version of Alex Chilton’s classic “Bangkok”. Smokestack Lightnin’s front man, Bernd Batke, shares the microphone with Broes on the co-written “Boat”.
1 Git'r Down
2 She's Mine
3 Bangkok
4 I'd wait all over
5 Woman is her name
6 Baby come to papa
7 Boat
8 (you need a) Checkup from the neck up
9 Dark in my heart
10 Three words
11 Thing