Sunday, June 14, 2009

Wait For The Ricochet...

Deep Purple

Deep Purple In Rock 25th Anniversary Remaster


Ripped at a wailing 320


Since this album first came out I have had every permutation to be had. Hell, I've had this album longer than my wife!

It's that good.

This is the 25th Anniversary Remaster edition that swells the original 7 tracks by some idle chat by the group and includes some versions for added body.

After satisfying all of their classical music kinks with keyboard player Jon Lord's overblown Concerto for Group and Orchestra, Deep Purple's soon to be classic Mark II version made its proper debut and established the sonic blueprint that would immortalize this lineup of the band on 1970's awesome In Rock. The cacophony of sound (spearheaded by Ritchie Blackmore's blistering guitar solo) introducing opener "Speed King" made it immediately obvious that the band was no longer fooling around, but the slightly less intense "Bloodsucker" did afford stunned listeners a chance to catch their breaths before the band launched into the album's epic, ten-minute tour de force, "Child in Time." In what still stands as arguably his single greatest performance, singer Ian Gillan led his bandmates on a series of hypnotizing crescendos, from the song's gentle beginning through to its ear-shattering climax and then back again for an even more intense encore that brought the original vinyl album's seismic first side to a close. Side two opened with the searing power chords of "Flight of the Rat" -- another example of the band's new take-no-prisoners hard rock stance, though at nearly eight minutes, it too found room for some extended soloing from Blackmore and Lord. Next, "Into the Fire" and "Living Wreck" proved more concise but equally appealing, and though closer "Hard Lovin' Man" finally saw the new-look Deep Purple waffling on a bit too long before descending into feedback, the die was cast for one of heavy metal's defining albums.

1 Speed King
2 Bloodsucker
3 Child in Time
4 Flight of the Rat
5 Into the Fire
6 Living Wreck
7 Hard Lovin' Man
8 Black Night [Original Single Version]
9 Studio Chat
10 Speed King
11 Studio Chat
12 Cry Free
13 Studio Chat
14 Jam Stew
15 Studio Chat
16 Flight of the Rat
17 Studio Chat
18 Speed King
19 Studio Chat
20 Black Night