Monday, June 01, 2009

It's A Hot & Spicy Stew

B.B. Chung King & The Buddaheads
Mumbo Jumbo Gumbo


It’s all in a name. Buddaheads are/is the creative exponent of Chinese blues-rock guitarist Alan (BB Chung King) Mirikitani. Considered slang among some Americans for Asian immigrants, Buddaheads was also the term for the prestigious 442 Army infantry during WWII. The dichotomy of the name is what is heard in the music. A native of Burbank, CA and fan of the blues since his first Jimmy Reed record purchased in his pre-teens, Mirikitani is determined to use his style of playing to break down preconceived barriers and build the ultimate progressive blues-rock outfit. Signed to RCA Records in the mid-nineties, the band had a fleeting run at the market. Trends of the day forced the band to seek more fertile grounds in Japan and Asia however; they are currently back in the US for a shot at the new millennium. Howlin’ at the Moon finds Mirikitani and his band; Boyd Lafan (bass) and Joe Pafume (drums) seeped in swamp blues following in the steps of Robin Trower, Stevie Ray Vaughan and Hendrix.

BB’s music is a mix of roots rock with a blues base. BB has always claimed blues to be his first love, but comes from a generation that loves to rock. His first CD “Blues Had A Baby”, was released in 1994 on RCA/BMB and received generous support from radio fans. If you have to categorize the music, it is somewhere between newer artists Kenny Wayne Shepherd and Blues Travelers. But make no mistake, BB Chung King & The Buddaheads are the original LA version! BB keeps quite busy with the Buddaheads, but also finds time to write, record and produce music for other artists. BB has written songs for blues legends such as Bettye LaVette, Lonnie Brooks, Tinsley Ellis and helped Ruth Brown receive a Grammy for her performance of his song “Too Little, Too Late”. Then he produced, wrote, engineered and played on B.J. Sharp’s Grammy nominated CD “Never Felt No Blues”. Her CD reached number 4 in the charts in Europe, without being issued there!

1 All Night Long
2 Mumbo Jumbo
3 Hurricane
4 Hold On
5 For Too Long
6 Mood For Luv
7 Showdown
8 Wine, Women & Workin'
9 Sooner Or Later
10 Amen
11 Jeff & His Little Buddies
12 Storm (Live)
13 Don't Cry (Lullaby)