Monday, September 01, 2008

Bubblegum And Beer

Motherfuckers Be Trippin'

"Have no fear, 'cause now it's here..."Motherfuckers Be Trippin'has arrived and it's guaranteed to rock your ass! So be a part of the solution to the rock-n-roll drought and help us get this fucker in the hands of everyone who needs a shot of quality rock, mined fresh from the Supersuckers’ private quarry located just outside of Hell City, Hell.

Expecting the Supersuckers to grow up and stop singing about getting trashed is like asking Angus Young to put on long pants: You could do it, but what's the point? Eddie Spaghetti and company revel in retrograde rock and show no signs of changing their tune on album number six. And, in this case, that's a good thing. Blistering punkabilly swing and with plenty of bleary-eyed cowboy grunge help Motherfuckers Be Trippin' gel into the one of the Seattle band's most consistently rocking albums. The expected odes to booze ("A Good Night for My Drinkin'," "Bubblegum and Beer"), stand alongside a cryin'-in-my-beer kiss off ("Pretty Fucked Up"), that stings even as Spaghetti chokes down someRead More
humble pie. "I used to be strong/I used to be tough," he sings, "And she used to be pretty/ But now she's just pretty fucked up." Despite a career spent mostly on the fringes, even their most cynical songs, "Rock-N-Roll Records (Ain't Selling This Year)", come off as more playful than bitter, because to be really mad, you'd have to actually give a shit.
GIL KAUFMAN(April 21, 2003)


1. Rock-N-Roll Records (Ain't Selling This Year)
2. Rock Your Ass
3. Pretty Fucked Up
4. Fight Song, The
5. Bruises to Prove It
6. Bubblegum and Beer
7. Sleepy Vampire
8. Good Night For My Drinkin', A
9. Damn My Soul
10. Someday I Will Kill You
11. Nowhere Special, The
12. Goodbye