Sunday, August 05, 2007

Wellwater Conspiracy

Wellwater Conspiracy

Brotherhood of Electric:Operational Directives


by Greg Prato
On their second album, 1999's Brotherhood of Electric: Operational Directives, lo-fi masters Wellwater Conspiracy offer another intriguing collection of 60's-tinged ditties. Again, guitarist/bassist John McBain and drummer Matt Cameron are present, but singer Ben Shepherd is not, so Cameron handles the vocal chores this time around (both have very similar singing styles anyway). And despite the defection of Shepherd, the songs are still strong and memorable - all the while rocking and spaced out. Like it's predecessor, 97's Declaration of Conformity, it takes a few listens to fully grasp and comprehend, but once it does, you're hooked. Highlights include the instrumental "Hal McBlaine," as well as "Compellor," "Teen Lamchop," "Born With A Tail," "Red Light Green Light," and the heavy Black Sabbath-riff monger "Van Vanishing." As heard on Brotherhood of Electric, Wellwater Conspiracy continue to specialize in authentic sounds of yesteryear (The Who, The Creation, Pink Floyd, etc.). Highly recommended.

1 Destination 24
2 Compellor
3 Teen Lambchop
4 Hal McBlaine
5 Born With a Tail
6 Destination 7
7 Red Light, Green Light
8 B.O.U.
9 Psycho Scrimm
10 Van Vanishing
11 Right of Left Field
12 Ladder to the Moon
13 Dark Passage
14 Good Pushin'
15 Dr. Browne Dr. Greene
16 Jefferson Experiment


Anonymous said...

I love this band. thanks for the album. Declaration of conformity was good, but I think this one is better. Thanks alot!

Anonymous said...

What's the password????

Anonymous said...
This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.
Trustar said...

Funny you should ask.

There is none!

Just checked it out again myself and it opens right up.