Wednesday, March 11, 2009

Boom Shak A-Tack

Born Jamaicans
Best Of

Biography by Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Fusing hip-hop and dancehall reggae, Born Jamericans earned a cult following with their pair of mid-'90s albums. The duo was comprised of Mr. Notch, who favored smooth vocals, and Edley Shine, who delivered rough ragga raps. Born Jamericans' debut album, Kids From Foreign, became a reggae hit upon its 1994 release, and they became a favorite of the reggae circuit, opening for Buju Banton, Shabba Ranks, Zhané, and Shai, among many others. Mad Lion, Shinehead, and Johnny Osbourne all were featured on the group's second album, Yardcore, which was released in the spring of 1995.


Review by Stephen Thomas Erlewine
Rhino's 2002 collection The Best of the Born Jamericans is an excellent summary of the duo's recordings for Delicious Vinyl, containing five songs apiece from Kids from Foreign and Yardcore, plus two previously unreleased tracks and a dancehall remix of their biggest hit, "Boom Shak A-Tack." Although they never got much bigger than that song, they did mix hip-hop, ragga and reggae quite nimbly, and this is the best place for the curious to check it out.

1 Warning Sign
2 Boom Shak A-Tack
3 Sweet Honey
4 Cease and Seckle
5 Why Do Girls
6 Yardcore
7 State of Shock IV
8 Send My Love/Send One Your Love
9 Superstar
10 Go Girl
11 Venus (Got It Goin' On) [Remix]
12 Wherever We Go
13 Boom Shak A-Tack [Dancehall Remix]



bobbysu said...

thank you so much