Thursday, November 19, 2009

Just To Damn Cool

Miles Davis
The Complete Birth of The Cool  (Blue Note)
Ripped @ a smooth 320
Review by Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Capitol's The Complete Birth of the Cool is a double-disc set that's separated into two halves. The first contains all 12 tracks Davis cut in the studio in January 1949 with Gil Evans. The second contains three radio broadcasts that the Birth of the Cool nonet performed in September 1948 at the Royal Roost in New York City. All the recordings have been completely remastered, resulting in the best ever sound for these recordings. The set also features brand new liner notes from Phil Schapp, plus the original liners. All the added features help make The Complete Birth of the Cool the definitive chronicle of one of the most important eras in jazz history.


1 Move 
2 Jeru 
3 Moon Dreams 
4 Venus de Milo 
5 Budo 
6 Deception 
7 Godchild 
8 Boplicity 
9 Rocker 
10 Israel 
11 Rouge 
12 Darn That Dream 
13 Birth of the Cool Theme [live] 
14 Symphony Sid Announces the Band [live] 
15 Move [live]
16 Why Do I Love You? [live] 
17 Godchild [live] 
18 Symphony Sid Introduction [live] 
19 S'il Vous Plait [live] 
20 Moon Dreams [live] 
21 Budo (Hallucination) [live] 
22 Darn That Dream [live] 
23 Move [live] 
24 Moon Dreams [live] 
25 Budo (Hallucination) [live]

Get it HERE